General Studies Bestows Awards During Annual Dinner

Peter Awn, Dean of the School of General Studies (GS), awarded the School's Medal of Distinction to Roger Pilon '71GS, a Constitutional scholar who is the vice president for legal affairs at the Cato Institute. 

April 06, 2001

During the GS annual dinner this week, Awn also awarded the Phillip and Ruth Hettleman Award for Junior Faculty to Adam J. Kosto, assistant professor in the History Department, and to Christina Kiaer, an expert in cultural theory; as well as the Bancroft Award for Distinguished Retiring Faculty to Alberto Mancinelli, an expert in plant physiology and photobiology, who has taught at the University since 1964. Florence Van Veen Peavy, '47GS and Daniel J. Daly, '58GS won the Owl Award for public service, an award GS gives annually to active alumni.