86 Students Inducted into GS Honor Society

86 Students Inducted into GS Honor Society

October 19, 2018

Dean Lisa Rosen-Metsch welcoming a new GS Honor Society inductee.

On Monday, October 15, faculty, staff, friends, and family gathered to celebrate the induction of 86 students into the Honor Society of the School of General Studies at its fall 2018 Induction Ceremony in Low Memorial Library. The GS Honor Society, created in 1997 to celebrate the academic achievement of exceptional GS scholars, inducts students who have earned a cumulative GPA of at least 3.8 in more than 30 points of academic coursework at Columbia University.

The ceremony opened with a welcome from Dean Lisa Rosen-Metsch, followed by remarks from Dean of Academic Affairs Victoria Rosner.

“Honor Society students continuously demonstrate the ability of untraditional students to thrive and succeed as part of a population of high-achieving Ivy League undergraduate students.” Dean Rosner said.

Among those inducted this spring are students enrolled in the School’s dual-degree programs with List College of Jewish Theological Seminary, Sciences Po, and the City University of Hong Kong, as well as students from countries all around the world, including Russia, Greece, China, Israel, France, Serbia, Singapore, South Korea, Hong Kong, Georgia, Sweden, the Dominican Republic, Canada, and Morocco.

“Diversity is the hallmark of the GS student – diversity of age, experience, gender and sexual identity, national and ethnic origins, and every other axis of human definition. Some of our students are still in their teens, while others are decades older, and some are parents themselves, including students raising children with special needs while attending GS.” Dean Rosner said.

The chief aim of the GS Honor Society is to cultivate interaction among those committed to intellectual discovery and academic excellence. The only group of its kind at the University, the Society offers opportunities throughout the year for its student and alumni members to interact with one another, as well as with the faculty who enjoy working with who enjoy working with such outstanding scholars.

Fall 2018 GS Honor Society Inductees

Augustine Kwarase Adda
Mary Bannister
Anna Louise Barbier
Elizabeth Hannah Blackburn
Vladyslav Serhiovich Bobrovnyk
Justin Andrew Booz
Elza Bouhassira
Nathan Canadas
Lisa Joy Canak
Jongyeol Chae
Celeste Chan
Alexander Dong-Hyon Chang
Liang Chen
Reema Danaf
Seth Dennis
Hillel Zachariah Eichenbrenner
Amine Elghouayel
Roysi Eskenazi
Megan Evershed
Yosef Farzan
Dalton James Fischer-Linnett
Michael Julius Flaster
Raisa Flor
Katharina Huili Focke
Sarah Catherine Foster
Laurin Jessica Gagne
Guillaume Gaspari
Denizalp Goktas
Jonah Chananya Goldman-Kay
Andrew Goulian
Juan Esteban Guerrero
Sanghui Han
Hardy Hewson
Yunxi Hu
Anne Christine Hulthen
Yasmeen Abdullah Ibrahim
Lisa Inzerillo
Shireen Jalali-Yazdi
Adam Lee John
Benjamin Michael Kerwin
Byung Chan Ko
Yona Aryeh Kornsgold
Yanming Kuang
Chi Tun Lam
Wan Yii Lee
Jamie Lerner-Brecher
Matthew Evan Linsky
Yiheng Liu
Margaret Ryan Miller
Heather Aviva Najman
Sara Obermajerova
Jade Yeen Onn
Tsai-Chun Pan
Xinghe Pan
Laurence Parker
Viet Phan
Stanislas Paul-Henri Arth Pincon
Deirdre Kora Neumann Radigan
Nivaasya Ramachandran
Gaspard Stanislas Rames
Grant Reiter
Sofia Riva
Nicole Rodgers
Jeremy Louis Rotman
Zachary Andre Rotman
Shivani Shailesh Rudra
Margaret Scanlon
Elisa Ellen Sisto
Tiffany Joy Smith
Jack Snyder
Alan Matthew Spadone
Jacob William Stanhope
Marthinus Christo Strydom
Sebastian Torero
Emma Aidee Vadillo Quesada
Yen Ba Vu
Kellie Elizabeth Welch
Anne Stone Whitney
Marina Sophia Valentin Wilbraham
Jennifer Jowen Wu
Kexin Wu
Peilin Wu
Lea Rose Emilie Yahiel
Chen Yu
Yuwei Zhang
Ryan Joshua Zohar